The 3 P’s: Creighton isn’t just for rich kids

Part three in a three part series titled “The 3 P’s: How to survive Creighton while being poor, public-schooled and Protestant.” Catch the other parts here and here

When I was a senior in high school and (finally) decided on Creighton University, I got the same reaction from almost everyone: “Isn’t that expensive?”

Short answer: Yes.

Long answer: Yes, it is expensive, especially compared to “in state” tuition and regents scholarships.

But alas, that is not the point of this post. I am trying to pass on to you, future Creighton students from around the country, how to survive when it seems like everyone else is wealthy.

Let me note that I am not poor. I have been fortunate enough to grow up in a comfortable, middle-class family, and I have never wanted for anything. However, the alliteration of the “3 P’s” was just simply too good to pass up.

Many people at Creighton give off the appearance that they are extremely wealthy. I don’t know if they actually are, as I am not privy to their tax returns. But for every kid who works overnights at QuikTrip to pay tuition, there is a trust fund baby who walks around in boat shoes and talks about the “glory days” of their private high school.

It will be frustrating for you, future bluejay, when you meet a classmate who is 22 years old and has never had a job before. You will feel a slight stab of jealousy when you hear about their summers spent lounging by the pool and think back to the long, sweaty hours you spent serving them nachos and teaching their younger siblings how to blow bubbles in swim lessons.

You will also become incredibly disheartened when you overhear that Creighton was their last choice, merely selected for the cheap tuition and amazing scholarships. “Cheap?” you will question. “Last choice? Where were these amazing scholarships hiding when I was applying?”

All I can really tell you is to not let the haters get you down. Creighton is a great school, simply by virtue of you being associated with it. And all of the odd jobs you work to pay for your groceries instill within you the appreciation of a dollar.

So hang in there, my friend. Some day, when I make a million dollars, I will help you with your tuition. But until then, keep living the Magis life.

Leave a Reply

