The year of the asterisk: my 2013 in review

944953_10200552203426495_1914901324_n Why am I deeming 2013 the year of the asterisk? Because for me, this year was full of leaps forward and remembering why I am who I am.

Remember my “Actively seeking asterisks” post? (If not, read it here.) It was my most read post of 2013, with the exception of my snack-themed Sound of Music Live! review. I think it is the best thing that I have ever written. I have tried to continue searching for asterisks in my life and I have found that I am very happy and comfortable.

Some other highlights:

– I attended my first concert at the CenturyLink Center. It was Taylor Swift for her “Red” tour and it was phenomenial. See the five best Taylor Swift songs here. 

– I have had five jobs, four of them I would consider to be “grown-up” ones. I got to help out with Creighton’s graduation, and I also rode the bus with Omaha mayor Jean Stothert. I now occasionally cover heart-warming community events and I write blogs–and get paid for it! How cool is all of that? I also got to work with my idol and meeting amazing writers every day. I also did some PA work for American Idol.

– I traveled. To Milwaukee for a practically perfect 4th of July weekend, to Minnesota, I went to places small (Norfolk) and large (San Diego.)

-I won awards- an OPC journalism scholarship and a CU sorority junior scholarship.

– I did a lot of things out of my comfort zone: aka the taco ride.

– I created the  social media editor position for the Creightonian.

-I like to think I called my parents crying less, but I can’t be for sure. I feel like that is a hallmark of growing up.

-I turned 21, which is something that I never have to endure again. (Thank goodness for that!)

-I saw the 2012 movie “Frances Ha,” which was very inspirational and changed my life and my hair goals.

– Over the course of the year, I lost 12 pounds and I feel better than ever.

– I stopped slouching.

If 2012 was the year of the comeback and 2013 the year of the asterisk, 2014 is going to be the year of openness and acceptance. I am going to open my mind and heart to new people, places and experiences, and love every minute of it.

I sincerely hope you have a fantastic New Year. Thanks for reading.

Want to read more? Here are some of my favorite posts from 2013:
A Letter to my 10-year-old self
What’s in a name? Or nouns vs. adjectives
My version of Magis
Constant Curating
Dead Rabbits
Some fatherly advice
It’s just like riding a bike
NE is a part of me
What Barney taught me

2 thoughts on “The year of the asterisk: my 2013 in review

    • Amanda Brandt January 3, 2014 / 11:38 AM

      Happy New Year to you as well! I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who has had these “growing moments.”

Leave a Reply

