To-Do Lists, or “Cheater-Cheater-Pumpkin-Spice-Bagel-Eater”

I am a cheater. No, I don’t cheat on tests or under oaths or anything like that– I only cheat on my to-do lists. (And workouts, if I am being honest.)

I am a big list-maker. Pro/Con, “dream”, ideas, brainstorming, grocery — I write them all and follow them faithfully. There is just something about the to-do list that makes me become a large liar.

I “cheat” on my to-do lists in two main ways.

  1. I add easy items to the list that I was going to do anyways to make myself feel better
  2. I never end up doing the things on my list

Whew. I’m glad I got that off of my chest. I can’t be the only one who adds simple items to my lists to give me a false sense of productivity and accomplishment, right? Any other to-do list liars out there?

Today's to-do list

A post shared by Amanda Brandt (@abug63) on

Here is an example of a real list I wrote yesterday in my down time at work:

  • Eat a salad
  • GoogleGordon MacRae
  • Buy some more of those pumpkin spice bagels because I’m not sure if I like them or not
  • Exercise
  • Never talk to [name of boy redacted for his safety] again
  • Take the shuttle to class on Monday
  • Figure out what movies are showing
  • Paint my nails
  • Buy a reusable water bottle and coffee thermos
  • Watch “The Prince of Egypt
  • Email interesting stories to my friend Ann
  • Do all my homework
  • Call some people I need to call
  • Find out how a 401(k) works
  • Change my Twitter profile background
  • Blog

That is honestly a list I made. (See lie numero uno.) And I haven’t even done everyone on there. (See no. 2.)

You may look at that list and say something akin to “But Amanda, you already blogged! I am reading it now.” Technically true, I suppose, but not the one I wanted to write. I can’t figure out how to make it work, so I decided to write a simple one about lists.

Sigh.

I’m going to put lying on my to-do lists on my to-do list. I’m going to let you guess how that will turn out.

Amanda

9 thoughts on “To-Do Lists, or “Cheater-Cheater-Pumpkin-Spice-Bagel-Eater”

  1. writtenbyafloridian September 24, 2013 / 11:22 PM

    Google Gordon MacRae is kind of hilarious.

    Cheers

    • asb13521 September 24, 2013 / 11:42 PM

      You never know what a mind can think up…

      • writtenbyafloridian September 24, 2013 / 11:46 PM

        If you can imagine it….. Are you a Rodgers and Hammerstein fan or something?

        Btw, thanks for the follow.

        Cheers

      • asb13521 September 25, 2013 / 12:02 AM

        Who doesn’t love R&H?

        In my Googling, I discovered he frequently sang the national anthem at University of Nebraska—Lincoln football games. I hope the audience knew what a treat they were hearing!

      • writtenbyafloridian September 25, 2013 / 12:17 AM

        Very, very true lol.

        I am almost certain they didn’t. Have you never met people from Nebraska? (Kidding of course. Or am I?)

        Journalism major, huh? Are you going to be one of those rare journalists that actually manipulate facts for the truth rather than for self-interest or some other non-truth preserving reason?–Is there still some virtue in being candid? LOL.

      • asb13521 September 25, 2013 / 12:25 AM

        Let’s hope there is a shred of virtue left! I suppose I will have to read up about morality in your essays to give me a guide.

      • writtenbyafloridian September 25, 2013 / 12:31 AM

        Hahaha! Now you are just trying to get me into bed lol.

        No, but seriously I hope someone finds them useful and enlightening. Thank you, if you were being serious, that is.

      • asb13521 September 25, 2013 / 9:59 AM

        I am serious. We can all use a dose of ethics now and then!

      • writtenbyafloridian September 25, 2013 / 11:50 AM

        Truer words have never been said.

        Cheers

Leave a Reply

