I still like “Call Me Maybe” and I’m not ashamed

I still really like the song “Call Me Maybe.” I mean, I really like it. I’ll turn up the radio and blare it. And I’m not ashamed.  For those of you who have no clue what I’m talking about, watch the following music video. (And heck, listen to it anyways!)

Catchy, right? Carly Rae Jepsen, a 27-year-old Canadian one-hit wonder, struck a gold mine with this song. The track was released in September 2011. It spent nine consequitive weeks at the No. 1 spot on the pop charts, and is was the most downloaded track on iTunes in 2012. Hundreds of people made parody and dance videos to the song, most notably Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez, the Harvard baseball team, the U.S.A. Olympic Swim TeamU.S. Marines overseas and a special classroom instruments version with Jimmy Fallon and the Roots.  (I’m also partial to the Creighton version.)

Why do I like it so much? I feel like I should be tired of it, the way I get with most Top 40 hits. Why is this song on a short list of “Amanda Classics,” in the ranks of tunes like James Taylor’sFire and Rain,” The Rolling Stones‘ “You Can’t Always Get What You Want,” Paul Simon’sCall Me Al,” Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep” and Eminem’s “Loose Yourself?”

There are a few reasons. I like that the lyrics are light and innocent. Who doesn’t like getting that rush-from-a-crush feeling? It’s also upbeat and provides a great song for me to run to. And those strings in the chorus aren’t bad either.

What was the point of this post? I forgot long ago. I was too busy toe-tapping and singing along to Carly Rae. And if you are reading this, call me maybe?

Amanda

Leave a Reply

