Multiple Easter Miracles

Happy Easter!

It is Sunday evening, and I am writing this post to avoid my homework. (Thank goodness Catholic schools give us a long Easter break! Totally makes up for having school on President’s day.) Please indulge me in a tale of Easter miracles.

The first miracle of today is the one believed by Christians— Christ is risen. You can Google that one yourself.

The second miracle of today is that I got up and went to early church. I slept through sunrise service, but I made it to 8:15 worship (or ‘warship,’ as our pastor says.) And I dressed up too! I didn’t sleep through the sermon, either. I did commit a faux pas with the passing of the offertory plates, but that is neither here nor there.

The fourth miracle of today is that Nebraska is beautiful and it exists and the Sandhill cranes love it. My immediate family drove to Hastings after ‘warship,’ to visit my grandparents, aunt & uncle and cousins. We took the scenic route via the highway by Wood River. It was a clear, sunny day. The gentle rolling hills contrasted beautifully with the rows of the leftover corn of last season. The last of the Sandhill cranes were eating in the fields, looking majestic as ever. I don’t care what anybody says, Nebraska is beautiful and I love it…most of the time.

Emma & I with the talented Easter Bunny outside of the country club in Hastings, Nebraska.
Emma & I with the talented Easter Bunny outside of the country club in Hastings, Nebraska.

The fifth miracle of today is that Emma and I met an Easter Bunny who could play the piano. He had a wide Jazz repertoire.

The sixth miracle of today is the most important one. I ate ham and lamb. Despite my occasional vegan and vegetarian tendencies, I love ham. And lamb. I jokingly told my grandmother that if the country club did not serve ham, I would storm out and refuse to ever return to such an establishment. When my grandmother looked at the menu, it did not list ham as one of the offered dishes. She told me this right before I was about to go fill my plate. I was devastated. Trying to act mature, I ran to the buffet, searching for an alternative to my traditional Easter ham. That’s when I saw it— a leg of lamb. It looked delicious and tender and beautiful. When I snapped out of my lamb-induced reverie, I turned around and saw a platter of sliced ham. HAM. I nearly cried tears of joy. Ham AND lamb?? What a glorious miracle. Needless to say, I ate a large portion of both. And I was happy. Easter brunch was saved; it was better than my wildest brunch dreams.

The seventh miracle of today is that the Easter Bunny still dropped off a basket for me. I also participated in an egg hunt. Yes, nearly 21 years old and still participating in the traditions of my youth. I love it. It serves as a sort of anchor in my life, a sense of stability that while I may be growing older, I can still be who I am. And I am a person who likes chocolate bunnies and acting a tad bit childish.

Me in the blue/gray FJ60. I still can drive it!
Me in the blue/gray FJ60. I still can drive it!

The eighth miracle of today is that I still remember how to successfully drive a manual transmission car. Yes, the good ol’ stick shift and I still get along.

The final miracle of today is that I am actually blogging. I have been in a writing rut lately. I have been aiming for perfection. Sometimes you just have to admit to yourself that a dinosaur-themed personality quiz cannot be written.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “Multiple Easter Miracles

Leave a Reply

