State of the Media 2012

Social Media Week 2012 SP
Social Media Week 2012 SP (Photo credit: Fora do Eixo)

Write a blog post reflecting on what the report’s findings mean to you as a professional and as a consumer. Do the findings reflect what you have observed and experienced in your own life? What does it mean for how you will do your jobs now and in the future?

The 2012 State of the Media report card was recently released by the Pew Research Center for Excellence in Journalism. A portion of the report was focused on the influence of social media. (You can read it here.) Being a journalism student who is in a social media course, I found the report to be very interesting and (hopefully) pertinent to my future.

My primary reaction to reading this report is a sense of hopefulness about my future. While I am still unsure about what I want to do with my life, or if I even want to work in the field of Journalism, it is reassuring to know that there are people who like social media, and have found a way to make their livelihood doing it. An estimated 184 news organizations around the country have social media editors, up from 100 in early 2012. This is exciting! It means that what I am learning can actually be applied and potentially get me a job someday.

The social media-related jobs do not necessarily end with those 184 editors. The report mentioned Vadim Lavrusik, a 2009 college graduate who is the Journalist Project Manager at Facebook. Check out his website– it is interesting. His resume is crazy-awesome.

The report also noted the increasing numbers of people who get their news via a website or mobile device. While it seems obvious to me that these numbers will only continue to grow in the future, it is important to note that they will probably never reach extremely high numbers. After all, not every household in America has a computer or internet access. Not all people can afford a smart phone. Some people just prefer a newspaper or broadcast. I think it is important to keep expanding and exploring into the digital and online world, but it is equally imperative that these original mediums are not cast aside. Those who cannot go to Omaha.com should still be able to find quality reporting in their morning edition of the Omaha World-Herald.

Mentions and refers were mentioned in the report. I think this is something that I need to keep in mind when doing professional social media. As a consumer, I generally ignore a designated hash tag or link on websites or in the bottom of a TV screen. However, this report seems to say that people use them, which means that I should begin utilizing them as well. I also believe that my generation will eventually get used to phenomena like this and will begin to ignore them with greater frequency in the future.

One final thought: The report mainly focused on Facebook, in regards to advertisements and traffic generators. I personally am on Facebook frequently, but I rarely use it for purposes such as this. I will post the occasional article on there, but I use Twitter much more for news purposes. Am I alone in this?

And now on to read the rest of the Pew report…

One thought on “State of the Media 2012

Leave a Reply

