Sometimes I disgust myself, or iPhone Addict

Image representing iPhone as depicted in Crunc...
Image via CrunchBase

I’m back. That’s right, two posts in one evening; nay; one hour?

That’s right. What has caused this frenzy of blogging activity? Technology.

My roommate Josie just said the smartest thing I have heard all day- “Technology is the best and worst thing ever happen to mankind.” She is so spot on, I want to print that phrase onto tiny tubes of chapstick and give them away to people.

I was in the process of updating my iPhone when something terrible happened. Yes, something terrible. It was worse than the time Facebook put me in timeout. Something went awry, and now it seems I have no other option than to restore my iPhone.

I last backed up my iPhone in September. Yes, I realize that was dumb of me. But now I am faced with my own version of Sophie’s choice- do I restore my phone and lose the past five months of my digital life or do I stare at its cold, unfeeling screen and pray to the Steve Jobs gods that something will miraculously happen? (Oddly enough, this week I am learning about miracles in my Philosophy class.)

Facing this choice, my heart begins to race. My stomach churns; how can I go on? Then suddenly, I realize what I am pondering. A phone. A phone that costs more than most people make in a year. Don’t believe me? An unlocked, no-contract iPhone costs $549 dollars. According to Wikipedia, the average GDP of a person in the Democratic Republic of the Congo is just over 200 U.S. dollars a year.

Cover of "Mean Girls (Special Collector's...
Cover via Amazon

Is this what I have succumbed to? Am I really that materialistic? Do I really value things more than life experiences? In the words of one of my favorite movies, “Mean Girls,” have I turned plastic?

The majority of people in the world will never experience an iPhone. I showed my great-grandmother an iPad for the first time shortly before she passed, and she wasn’t quite sure what to make of it. She kept looking at it suspiciously, as if she knew the power these tiny devices have over society.

Leona was right. These devices are turning into the precious ring, and I am slowly becoming Smeagol/Gollum. I am addicted, I am weak, I am materialistic. I am disgusted with myself for placing so much trust and worth into a piece of metal and plastic and glass. Is this how people feel when they go to the Dominic Republic and then return to the thing-centered society that we live in?

Hello, my name is Amanda, and I am an iPhone addict. No matter what happens with my phone, I hereby resolve to quit using it so much. I’m going to break my addiction. Join me?

4 thoughts on “Sometimes I disgust myself, or iPhone Addict

  1. Josh Bucy February 13, 2013 / 2:41 PM

    The fact that you worked Mean Girls into this gives you brownie points.

    • asb13521 February 14, 2013 / 10:19 PM

      Its a personal goal of mine to make at least one Mean Girls reference a month.

  2. Regina March 8, 2013 / 7:40 AM

    Hey there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to
    find a theme or plugin that might be able to correct
    this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share.

    With thanks!

    • asb13521 March 12, 2013 / 11:53 PM

      I honestly have no clue! I just got lucky, I guess! I use the iPhone app to post a lot, so maybe that helps? Good luck!

Leave a Reply

