Analytics are fun!

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...
Image via CrunchBase

If you know me at all, you know that I don’t really like math. I do, however, like analytics. Especially when they give you a score and a nice shiny badge.

Yes, I have joined Klout. I have so much Klout and Kred and Social Mentions I could start a poorly-named rap group that only used grammatically correct rhymes.

For those of you who are unaware, the previously mentioned are tools and programs that analyze various social media accounts. They measure different things, but mainly center around the reach, or scope of influence, that an account has.

Klout is probably the most widely used analytic tool. On Klout you can attach a Twitter, FaceBook, WordPress, Instagram account and more. It then gives you a score out of 100. It is fun to see where you rank according to your friends and even celebrities. My current Klout score is 43/100. Not bad, eh? I can’t wait to see what my perks will be as my score increases!

Image representing Klout as depicted in CrunchBase
Image via CrunchBase

Social Mention is a search tool where you can look at specific accounts. My primary twitter handle, @MsAmBran, did not have that much of a presence on this tool. That is because not many people tweet at me, especially in comparison to some accounts, such as Barack Obama’s or Kim Kardashian‘s. I had a “grade” of 3% strength, with a 2:1 ratio of positive to negative mentions. This negative mention thing is baloney. Well, not really. I was tweeting about the shocking twist in this week’s episode of Downton Abbey and somebody replied and said something along the lines of “That was so sad.” The computer algorathim sees ‘sad’ as a negative word, despite the fact that I did not make the user sad. (Well, maybe I did. But it’s not relative here.) I had a passion score of 47% and a reach of 10%. Passion score reflects the amount of people who are ‘loyal’ to my brand.

Kred is another system like Klout. This gives a score out of 1000. I had 637, which is decent but not fantastic.

Finally, I looked at Twitalyzer. I had an impact of .2. Yikes. It also gives a nice bar graph/line graph function, which allows for me to see when I tweet the most. My tweeting isn’t very steady- some days are busier than others. According to this, I am a ‘casual user’ of Twitter.

To increase my scores, I will try to be a lot more ‘vocal’ on Twitter and Facebook. By mentioning others, they will (hopefully) respond. It’s all about engagement! I also hope to get some more followers. I currently have 385 Twitter followers, but I expect that number to drop drastically after I live-tweet the Academy Awards ceremony.

So please mention me on Twitter. If my Klout increases my Kred, maybe we can Social Mention our Twitalyzers together.

 

3 thoughts on “Analytics are fun!

  1. Janet January 30, 2013 / 8:03 AM

    What????? I am really out of the loop! But your message made me HAPPY!

  2. courtneyallen41 January 30, 2013 / 1:14 PM

    I will tweet at you everyday until it becomes annoying

    • asb13521 January 30, 2013 / 4:25 PM

      I will accept your tweets and crush your Klout score.

Leave a Reply

