Serving my Sentence

Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivat...
The idea for this post comes from the book “Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us” by Daniel Pink (Photo credit: cdorobek)

This post began as an assignment for my Social Media class. It ended up becoming one of the most difficult things I have ever written and something which I think will give me a purpose in life. In this video, based on Daniel Pink’s book “Drive,” the idea of creating a sentence for yourself is explained. It is sort of like creating a mission statement for yourself. It is also insanely difficult to do.

I am at an interesting moment in my life. College is a seemingly contradictory experience. On the one hand, people are focusing on the future. It’s all about figuring out a major, learning practical skills, getting internships to get a good reference to get a good job, trying to figure out where you want to live after graduation—the list goes on.

On the other hand, college kids tend to focus on the moment. It’s all about what’s happening now, what’s going on right this very second, what is cool, what the trend of the moment is. (I don’t know about you, but I’m still trying to recover from all the YOLO nonsense.) Trying to balance these two perspectives is difficult. My college days are flying by and the real world is staring me in the face. It is tempting to just throw one’s hands up in the air and scream “What am I doing? What should I do? Who will I become?”

That is why I need a sentence, one singular sentence, to focus on. I see it as something that I can state truthfully and authoritatively, something that will help me now (as a college student living in the moment) and later (as a “grown up.”.) I hope that my sentence will grow and change as my life grows and changes, and I cannot wait to see how it will morph in the future.

The Greeks placed a lot of emphasis on “the unexamined life” and “knowing thyself,” which is easier said than done. However, there are some facts that I can state about me and my personality with certainty:

  • I like communication. I have always been a talker who isn’t afraid to chat with others or ask questions. I like writing, and I hope to one day support myself with my writing skills.
  • I like interesting tidbits. Jeopardy! is great for this passion I have. If you look hard enough, there is always something interesting or new to be discovered. It’s all about asking the right questions.
  • I am very empathetic- I can understand where other people are coming from. After all, people are people. Everybody has felt wonderfully happy and terribly sad. Everything else can be understood if you try hard enough and look at their points of view.

So, here is my sentence: *drumroll*

She understood other people and shared their stories with the world. 

What do you think? Is it accurate? Too long? Too short? Or, better yet, tell me your sentence!

2 thoughts on “Serving my Sentence

  1. courtneyallen41 January 28, 2013 / 1:27 PM

    Teach me your ways!!!! You are the best blogger I know

Leave a Reply

