Social Media Strengths and Weaknesses

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...
Image via CrunchBase

If you saw my last post, you know that I use social media. Being active on social media accounts is akin to a ‘red badge of courage’ for my generation. Without an online social media presence, it is only expected to be judged and scrutinized by ones peers. I utilize three main forms of social media: Facebook, Twitter and blogging. I use these mostly as platforms through which I can deliver my thoughts and feelings. Yes, I am one of those people. I am the girl who tries not to care about social media yet engages on the platforms incessantly.

I like the versatility of social media. I also like that I can be so connected to people around the world. This ‘digital revolution‘ is one that I have been fortunate enough to grow up with, and my being able to use these tools will give me a great advantage in the workplace.

That being said, the lack of privacy associated with social media concerns me. Who knows what evil person will eventually hack into Facebook and broadcast my life for all to see? I am also nervous for the future of my friends and profession. People are so incredibly connected and into their smart phones and internet personas that they tend to miss the details. Journalism is all about the details.

Upon becoming a journalism student (and having my professors follow me,) my social media habits have changed drastically. I like to think that I use more of a filter when I post to the internet and I use social media more for networking.

What do I want to get out of this class? I wish to receive an education on the ways social media will help change the world, as I believe that is what will happen. Being ahead of the times can only help me in the long run, and I plan on being a key player in the long run.

2 thoughts on “Social Media Strengths and Weaknesses

  1. Jon January 21, 2013 / 12:31 PM

    Amanda, loved the post! Social media is a great way to brand yourself, especially as a journalist. It will give you a good reputation, especially if your careful about what you publish. I would suggest incorporating LinkedIn so future professionals can find you.

    • asb13521 January 22, 2013 / 12:30 AM

      Thanks Jon! I’ll have to see what LinkedIn is all about!

Leave a Reply

