2012: Year of the Comeback

This is my annual end-of-the-year report in which in detail the year which passed incredibly quickly. 2012 was a fantastic year; I am calling it the year of the comeback. I have grown and learned and strengthened in ways I never thought possible. I overcame my anxieties and found a path for my life. What a fantastic year!

– I fell deeply in love with my sorority, Delta Zeta and began to settle into my major, Journalism.

Some of my sisters and I during sorority recruitment in January.
Some of my sisters and I during sorority recruitment in January.

– I got a twitter and began to tweet in earnest during the Academy Awards. I tweeted about the ceremony over 200 times while watching the event, making me the most annoying person to follow ever. I began prepping for my role as Welcome Week executive and making   some of my best friendships at Creighton to date. There was a leap day, which I am pretty sure seemed no different from any other day. I re-discovered my passion for raisins and loved singing in my choir class.

I frolicked in the snow with my Welcome Week friends.
I frolicked in the snow with my Welcome Week friends.

– I met one of my favorite people on earth, Maxine. I was the Scene Editor for “The Creightonian” and decided I loved writing. March was a fantastic time for my blogging. I wrote like crazy and I was pretty darn funny. I became Creighton Famous, decided I should become actually famous and found some beliefs.

Me and my fabulous little sister, Maxine.
Me and my fabulous little sister, Maxine.

-I got rejected and enjoyed the sun. I turned a whopping 20 years old and failed at being a vegan. I also fell more in love with Delta Zeta and my Welcome Week family.

– I did a lot of travelling in 2012. I went to Minnesota and discovered the streets there are not actually paved with gold. I visited St. Louis over Easter and learned I was a giantess. I visited Mizzou! I was also fortunate enough to visit France again for a month this past summer. My mom came, I nannied and I visited a beach- where I am truly meant to be.

– I got culture! And a job! And almost started a fire!

-I wrote some of my best work. Here is a profile piece I did on one of the coolest people I know, Jake McCoy.

-I did some growing up by killing bugs and asking questions about where I was from.

-I attended two funerals, barely two months apart. These instances were the first time I really had to deal with death in my life. (You can read more about my Great Grandma Leona here.)

-I wrote my most popular post ever- salmon shorts. In the course of five hours, 1,098 people read and saw my make a fool of myself on the internet. 4

-I was in a play for the first time in two years. Ah, my flair for the dramatic never seems to end.

I would sincerely like to thank anyone and everyone who helped make 2012 such a fantastic year! Y’all are great.

 

Me at the City Museum in St. Louis with Katie
Me at the City Museum in St. Louis with Katie
My Welcome Week family the day before my birthday.
My Welcome Week family the day before my birthday.

 

 

 

One thought on “2012: Year of the Comeback

Leave a Reply

