Yuletide Tales

As I write this, Christmas is coming to a close. However, I sincerely wish that each and every one of you had a happy holiday full of merriment and wonder at the marvels of life.photo (2)

This year I experienced something new— a lack of Christmas spirit in my heart. This never happens to me. I generally pull out my Christmas music in mid-October. It wasn’t for lack of trying, as I  half-heartedly wrote a post about my favorite carols.  I just wasn’t feeling it. If you are like me, you may be throwing your hands at the sky, falling to your knees and asking “Why? Why? WHYYY? Why aren’t I in the Christmas Spirit?” I have some theories. A long and arduous work load made the end of the scholastic semester seem rushed and stressed. The lack of snow didn’t help things either. I have come to the (sad and strange) conclusion that getting older and more jaded makes Christmas seem to lack the splendor I remember from when I was a child.

Despite my lack of warm fuzzies in my heart, I still had a marvelous holiday. Some highlights:

  • I attended two services at two different churches on Christmas Eve and heard the exact same sermon. That’s right, I believe I uncovered a sermon plagiarism ring.
  • I succeeded in boring my family by explaining the circumstances behind the Jesus Movement‘s evolution into modern Christianity.  (Yay Liberal Catholic Education!)
  • At the yearly Brandt family Christmas Eve bingo extravaganza, I received a dolphin ice sculpture mold. Needless to say, I will be using it frequently throughout the year. Nothing says classy like a porpoise made of ice.564127_4601043338055_779277172_n
  • I ate a lot of food.
  • I became an advocate for female dogs who are forced to put up with unwanted advances of male dogs (otherwise known as dog rape.)
  • I accumulated four boxes of Hot Tamales!! If you don’t understand the significance of that, read this.
  • I successfully wore a Santa Hat for 12 hours straight.
  • I learned/semi-mastered the game Mexican Train dominoes. (It sounds racist, but it isn’t. It is an incredibly complex and poorly-explained game that is much fun.)
  • I got to hang out with two children (two years and 18 months) and only made one cry once!
  • I was reminded of how incredibly cool my family is.

Merry Christmas to all!photo (3)

Leave a Reply

