My Holiday Playlist

christmas tree
christmas tree (Photo credit: peminumkopi)

This is a magical time of year. Whether you are a Christmas music hater or fanatic, it is officially the time of the year to blast the best music of the year on repeat. That’s right, it is December, the one time of the year I can listen to my favorite music without the judgement of others. My personal opinion on Christmas music is that society shouldn’t limit some of its best work to only one month a year. That would be like only being able to use the internet on Tuesdays or only having Runza open in July. It doesn’t make sense.

To get myself in the holiday spirit, I compiled a playlist of my favorite Christmas tunes and named it Christmas 2012. Here is a condensed version with links and a brief explanation.

  • Oh Come All Ye Faithful” by (the one, the only) Elvis Presley. This song comes off one one of the best albums ever made— Elvis Christmas Classics. It has a wonderfully jazzy beginning that builds and builds until an angelic chorus backs him up at the end. Truly marvelous. According to iTunes, I have played this song 87 times.  

  • “Skating” by the Vince Guaraldi Trio. This is off the the album “A Charlie Brown Christmas.” This is a staple in my household. My family would always listen to this when decorating the tree. It’s part jazzy, part sassy, and 100 percent Christmassy. 
  • “Lo, How a Rose E’re Blooming” by Feist. I don’t know what it is about this 16th century German carol, but I have always been drawn to this tune. One time I told this to my grandmother, who then told me that it was my great-grandfather’s favorite Christmas carol as well. I have vivid memories of singing this in the church choir in Kearney, Nebraska. This is an interesting version done by modern artist Feist. 
  • “Baby It’s Cold Outside” performed by Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Jordan. Nobody can help but sing along when they hear this song. Ella’s classic voice is perfect in this version. 

I could go on and on, but I must stop here and go study for my finals.

What do you think? Did I miss any of your favorite carols?

One thought on “My Holiday Playlist

Leave a Reply

