Angsty Tuesday

James Dean, "Rebel Without a Cause",...
James Dean, “Rebel Without a Cause”, 1955 (Photo credit: thefoxling)

Lately, I have been feeling rather angsty. I never went through an angsty stage in middle school, so this is new to me. I really don’t know what has come over me. I am sarcastic to the extreme and feel like I want to do something rebellious. How rebellious am I? I checked out a book about seahorses from the Kearney Public Library.

This may seem a surprise to those who thought they knew me. You  may be thinking, “Amanda? Rebellious? Angsty? Acting like a teenager even though she is now 20 and no longer a teenager?” However, the classic signs of pre-angst Amanda were there all along.

Exhibit one- My favorite movie is the 1961 classic film “West Side Story.” WSS is more than a Sondheim/Laurents/Robbins musical. It is  full of raw teenage anxiousness. After all, the main struggle in the film is between two gangs. That’s right- gangs. So angsty, I can’t even stand it.

Exhibit two- James Dean is my favorite actor/man of history. His most famous movie is titled “Rebel Without a Cause.” I mean, come on! This guy gets me. Also, his second most famous movie is “East of Eden,” where he plays outcast/weirdo Cal. Is he perfect or what? (Don’t answer, that was a rethorical question. Of course he is perfect!)

Exhibit three- My favorite twitter feed is @whitegrlproblem, more commonly known as White Girl Problems. The genius behind this twitter feed, Babe Walker, wrote a book which I recently read. It is about a rich white girl who has problems. It is very angsty and very brilliant.

Exhibit four- I recently voted for the first time, by absentee ballot. Power to the people! Now I feel entitled to have an opinion. Democracy is dangerous stuff.

Exhibit five- I have been listening to angsty music lately. Lana del Rey, or LDR, has been playing constantly. She is so great. Here is a sample of my Angsty Amanda playlist. (Note- not all music on here is G-Rated.)

Conclusion- based on the previous five examples, my angsty side was destined to come out sometime.

Tread with caution.

 

2 thoughts on “Angsty Tuesday

  1. Pops October 16, 2012 / 12:48 PM

    Could impending dental surgery have anything to do with all this Angst?

Leave a Reply

