Eating snails, or being a ‘big girl’

Hello. As I speak, I am actually quite toasty. My wonderful family loaned us a space heater for our hotel room. Tonight the low is supposed to be 45 degrees fahrenheit. So good thing!!
Today started in a typical fashion- me not wanting to get up. I stayed up pretty late the previous night reading a wonderful book- Markus Zuzak’s The Book Thief. besides the point…,sorry I tend to ramble when tired.
We ate breakfast at the hotel today. It was awesome! The queen of all keurigs, little jam in little glass jars, nutella packets, tiny madelines, kiwis and fresh squeezed orange juice. Yum. Needless to say, i sampled some of everything. Traveling gives me quite an appetite. I am taller than most of the petite French women, so I might as well go all out.
It rained today. Shocker! With our trusty umbrellas in hand my mother and I travelled the streets of Vichy, stopping in cute stores (I bought lipstick and a purse, among other things) and eating good food.
Tonight we went to a nice restaurant. It was located on the river. I had a three course meal consisting of snails, lamb, and apple pie. Yes, I ate snails. They were delicious. Chewy yet delicious. I didn’t even ewwwwww or anything! 20 yrs old and I’m finally acting like an adult. The presentation of the food was marvelous.
Tomorrow my mom leaves. I am sad, yet glad I get to continue this trip.

However we purchased a ton of candy today. Yay.

Side bar- in France whenever you buy a cosmetic, they give you free samples. In usin these, I’ve becomes obsessed with the nuxe brand, esp their créme prodigeouse. Buy me some? 🙂

20120614-000340.jpg

20120614-000354.jpg

One thought on “Eating snails, or being a ‘big girl’

  1. Andrew June 13, 2012 / 8:15 PM

    I was 22 when I tried my first snail. Got to say I agree with you. They’re quite good! The best buttery garlic slime I’ve ever tasted.

Leave a Reply

