A Rejection Letter, part 1 of 1 (I hope)

Cover
Cover (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Good evening all!

I survived the trip back from the land of the north. When we arrived in Nebraska it was 93 degrees outside. What a splendid treasure of a day!

The drive back was exceptional. My car was listening to Tina Fey‘s audio book “Bossypants.” I had read her hilarious book before, but this was the first time I had discovered the audiobook format. Fey read it herself, which I found much funnier than the book. She did impressions of the people she was talking about such as Alec Baldwin, Kenneth the Page, and stereotypical New Yorkers at a nail salon. This only reiterated my burning desire to be as funny as her. She mixes the perfect amounts of self-deprication, funny terminology and comedic situations. It also doesn’t hurt that she throws some feminism “girl-power” stuff in her magical mix of humor.

But enough about Tina Fey. Today I was faced with a deep decision- should I attempt to go vegan or not? Then I got the letter. **Note: the decision is still being contemplated. And no, I am not slowly turning into the ultra-liberal, hippy daughter like my father fears.**

This was no ordinary letter. It was a rejection letter. More specifically, a rejection letter from a scholarship I applied for. I would like to note that I am not upset with the fact that I did not receive the scholarship. Rather, I just would like to reiterate that being rejected sucks.

Rejection is an unfortunate part of life. Who hasn’t been turned down? Some common examples of rejection in life:

  • Having an animal refuse to like you. (See evil cats in my previous post.)
  • Having one’s plans for a Saturday deemed ‘lame.’ I would like to state that museums are NOT lame. They are cool. COOL, I tell you!
  • Being rejected by a crush/significant other/imaginary boyfriend.
  • Not being cast in the lead role
  • Not being cast at all
  • Casts and broken bones (gravity’s way of rejecting your bones’ smug sense of infallibility.)
  • When the classes you need to take are all filled
  • Not getting a scholarship
  • When the shuttle is full and one must walk to class in the morning snow
  • When none of your friends want to apply for “The Amazing Race” with you
  • When your friends offer to drive places because they don’t appreciate your awesome and eclectic tastes in music.
When one of these happens to a human specimen, and I KNOW these have all happened to you, it is easy to save face. You could cast off your disappointment in being deemed unworthy by a cat by calling it ‘evil.’ You could go to the museum by yourself and become friends with the 70-year-old docents. You could get a hot pink cast and have your friends sign it. You could apply for a different reality show (because your friends would only hold you back on this intense, global competition, right? Besides, they would whine a lot. Besides besides, they can’t read maps. Yeah,  you are much better without them.)
**Question: Why haven’t they made “The Amazing Race: Solo Edition?” **
My point is (are you still with me?) that few times in life do we actually get documented proof of being rejected, turned down, or disappointed. In ‘real life’, you can run away, act like nothing ever happened, or move to a different state. When you get a letter it is much harder to do these things. There are the words in black and white- “We regret to inform you that you were NOT selected/chosen/included in this year’s 100 Most Beautiful People List.”
However, it is important to remember that a letter is just a letter. One’s self worth is not decided by a random panel of faceless judges. Do what I do and hang it on the fridge! It’s like a display of your finest finger-painting artwork, except not at all. Turn that frown into motivation! Remember, there is always next year. (How many times can Kim Kardashian be deemed one of the 100 most beautiful? One day she is going to slip and I will be there to take her spot.)
Love,
Amanda
2 thoughts on “A Rejection Letter, part 1 of 1 (I hope)

Leave a Reply

