Ahh….Nostalgia.

Well, what a summer.  I realize that I went into blogging hibernation after my trip abroad, but I thought I would just reflect on my other happenings this summer.  All of these happenings can be condensed into two words: THE POOL.

If you know me at all, you know that I have always worked at the pool.  This summer is my fifth, which makes me feel old.  My third year lifeguarding has been pretty low-key and filled with sun! However, this summer has seemed different.  It has been an “awkward summer” at home.  It is like when you are a kid and at the stage where you can fit into kids and grown-up shoes.  Which ones should you buy? The same can be said for me this summer.

I have been a big homebody these two months. Honestly, I have hung out with my co-workers, my parents and sister, and a handful of friends.  And you know what? That is just fine with me.  This summer still bears some resemblence to the ones I remember.  Most of the kids my age came back to Kearney for the summer, along with my friends.  I can’t help but feel as if this is the last time things will be the same.  Big changes are coming! I mean, who knows what next year will bring? I will be another year removed from my high school amigos and another year involved in this new life in Omaha.  I might not even come back to Kearney! My friends will be scattered across the country.  I don’t want to get ahead of myself, but I have found myself growing strangely nostalgic for the past.  I realize that it seems odd that someone not even twenty can be filled with these feelings, but it is true!   I am anxious to return to Creighton and start my year again, but I am also grasping at things here.  This is where I grew up, and I find myself not wanting to let it go.  I look at my old pictures and places from my childhood with a more appreciative eye. I am also realizing (belatedly) what a wonderful town Kearney truly is.  I love the lack of traffic and the friendly waves of the Kearney-ites.  It is also beautiful.  I was driving back from Hastings the other day, and every turn on the interstate was a beautiful postcard.  The corn, the sun, the way I can see the sky! I didn’t realize how long it had been since I had seen a sunset! In downtown Omaha, it is impossible to see the stars or the sunset.  Here, I can see both in their full glory from my back porch.  I may gripe about Kearney, but it’s really not that bad.

That being said, I am excited to see all of my CU friends again.  It has been a lonely summer without them!

Don’t worry- a pool blog is coming up soon!

Love,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

