I just couldn’t stay away…

Hello!

I was going to give my blog a rest for a while, but I just can’t stay away! I have been in Kearney for about a week and a half, but it feels like forever.  It was very nice to come home, but now I just want to go back.  I have kept a little bit of Paris in me though.  My time there has changed how I see and do things, for example:

1) I drive much less.  In Paris, we walked EVERYWHERE.  True, there was the metro, but I still had to walk down the stairs, to the metro, out of the metro, and then to my destination.  Here, in a small Mid-Western town, there is none of that.  People drive all the time.  Nothing is really wrong with that, but gas is getting very pricey.  It is $3.69 per gallon here.  When I returned, I reevaluated my transportation needs.  My primary work place, Harmon Pool, is not very far away from my house.  It takes three minutes to drive.  I have started to walk there.  It takes about 17 minutes to walk, but I enjoy the peace and quiet.

2) I ride my bike more.  My favorite part about Paris was bike riding at Versailles.  I was so full of happiness and excitement there! I am trying to translate those feelings into a more active lifestyle here.  For example, I just returned from an hour-long bike ride around K-town.  There are some very nice public bike trails that go all around the city and even out to the Archway Monument.  It is nice to get away from the traffic and be surrounded by a little bit of nature.  Today, I saw a deer! It is a strange contrast to see a deer one moment and then be looking at Carlos O’Kelley’s or whatever.

3) I use Facebook and my cell phone less.  After a month away, I would have been happy to throw my phone out the window! And Facebook?? Overrated.  I spent WAYYYY to much time on that one site.  The main reason I get on now is to play Scrabble with my mom.

4) My entire attitude has changed.  I feel like I am more optimistic and happy after the trip.  The whole time I was in France, I was so grateful and appreciative of all the experiences. I was happy.  I tried not to take anything for granted.  After all, I was in Paris! I feel like I truly lived in the moment and soaked everything up.  I was surrounded by beautiful places and amazing people.  Now that I am back, I am also trying to see the beauty in Kearney, Nebraska.  Anywhere can be as exciting as Paris if you have the right mindset.  My family is amazing, I love my job, and I have wonderful friends and co-workers.  Why should I complain? I have an old water bottle, and on the outside it says, “Optimistic: My glass is always half  full.”  This is how I am trying to live my life now.  It is hard, but I am working on it.

Hope this wasn’t too preachy! Anyone else want to hop on the Train of Optimism with me??

Love,

Amanda

One thought on “I just couldn’t stay away…

  1. Dad June 27, 2011 / 10:23 AM

    whoo whoo all aboard.

    I am going to be happy also.

Leave a Reply

