Wrapping up

Hello everyone! I am writing this from a hotel room in Paris-Roissy, where I will sleep before heading off to the good ‘ol USA tomorrow morning. 

Whew! I don’t know how a month could have gone by so quickly, or so awesomely.  I have seen  and experienced some truly amazing things, things I will never forget. I would personally like to thank you, the reader, for dutifully reading this blog.  I haven’t been very consistent, and I am sure my grammar is….interesting, but thank you anyways.  I hope it entertained you as much as it has entertained me. 

It was very difficult to say goodbye to my wonderful family today, but I must say, it is time to go home. It is a bittersweet moment.  This trip has shown me what an awesome country France is, and how wonderful the world is outside of my doorstep and my comfort zone.  However, it has also taught me to be grateful for my family, on both sides of the Atlantic.  I have decided to make a list:

THINGS I WON’T MISS ABOUT PARIS/FRANCE:  The strange keyboards (Why mess with QWERTY?), The fact that the ground floor is not, in fact, the first floor, Feeling inferior because most of the women could be professional models/hairstylists/fashion designers, The metric system (Confusing!), The way that most men stare openly at women (CREEPY!), Having to ask “Quoi?” or “Comment?” every five minutes to try and understand what people are saying, European Clothing Sizes, Living out of a suitcase, and Fleur d’Orange. 

THINGS I WILL MISS ABOUT PARIS/FRANCE:  My family in Vichy, The small portion sizes, Bueno Bars, Crepes, Nutella, Nutella Paninis, The bread, The pastries, Basically all of the food (EXCEPT Fleur d’Orange), The archeticture, The age of majority being 18, Speaking French (I really love speaking French.  I am not an expert, but it is fun and exciting, and it sounds much prettier than English), The cute French dogs that walk around without leashes, and basically EVERYTHING not mentioned above. 

In addition, I have discovered many things about myself, such as the fact that I really enjoy a good lamb chop.  Delicious! Poor little lamb, but truly delicious! Also, I rediscovered my joy of bike-riding and realized that I don’t need a car to get around.  My legs work just fine.  I have had one month without a cell phone, Facebook, and American TV shows.  And you know what, that is just fine by me.  After this, I have realized that I spent WAYYY to much time on electronic devices when I could be out living my life.  Hopefully, I will cut back on my Facebooking.  Famous last words, I know.  I have discovered that I really would like to study/live abroad for a while.  I also have found that I really enjoy blogging like this.  I feel like this project has rekindled my love of writing, and hopefully that will continue into a successful career in Journalism. 

Well, enough blathering.  I don’t know how frequently I will blog in the future, but I will keep you posted!

Much Love,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

