Harry Potter transcends languages

Bonjour! Sorry this is a little late, but I think most readers check at night, so hopefully this doesn’t inconvenience you. 

The view from the Grande Arche. If you look closely, you can see the Arc de Triomphe in the distance!

The weather was perfect yesterday!!! I still can’t believe it hasn’t rained yet.  There are supposed to be some evening thunderstorms tonight, so maybe I will get to see Paris in the rain yet.  Our group met and we all headed out to la Place de la Concord, where thousand of French were guillotined during the Revolution and the Rein of Terror that followed.  Our next stop was La Defense.  It is on the edge of Paris and is mainly a business district.  There are skyscrapers and tons of modern sculptures there.  The most famous icon is La Grande Arche, or the big arch.  It is almost a perfect cube with the center removed.  It is so large that Notre Dame Cathedral AND its spire could fit inside! This was a truly wonderful area.  You can look down the streets and see the Obelisk Napoleon brought to Paris from his campaign in Egypt, the Arc d’Triomphe, and the little Arch by the Louvre, all lined up! There were many shopping centers and apartment buildings, but no traffic! The highways are mostly underground in this area, which means that a pedestrian can walk without hearing the car horns Parisian drivers are so fond of using.  I really really enjoyed this area, and could see myself fitting in well here. 

This thing was massive!!
This thing was massive!!

I also bought my train ticket to Vichy yesterday! I am trying to brush up on my French last minute.  I am soo excited to see my wonderful relatives there!

Perhaps the most exciting thing I did was go to a bookstore and buy many books….en francais! The top floor of this massive store was used books.  I proudly purchased Harry Potter et la Coupe de Feu.  That is Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire for you english-speakers, also known as the best book in the series.  If you read a book that you have read in your native language, it is supposed to help your comprehension of a language immensely! I will let you know how it works out.  I just hope that the story is just as exciting with Harry, Ron, and Hermione speaking in French accents in my head….

For the evening, we had our CU in Paris farewell picnic, as two of my roommates headed back today to start summer classes at Creighton.  We bought everything- cheese, bread, fruit, meat, and beverages- and headed out to la Pont d’Art, a pedestrian bridge over the seine.  As I mentioned, the weather was fantastic.  I was in a beautiful place, watching the sun set over the water.  I was surrounded with 12 amazing people who I met on this trip, and we had a blast.  It was a truly perfect night, one that I will never forget.  I hope that everyone can experience something like this in their life. 

Love,

Hailey and I on the bridge last night. A couple of things to note: Our matching sailor shirts we bought in Trouville, the love locks in the background (we gave Dr. V and MTMV a love lock for their 25th anniversary last night), and my awkward hand. Tyra Banks would be disappointed in me...
Hailey and I on the bridge last night. A couple of things to note: Our matching sailor shirts we bought in Trouville, the love locks in the background (we gave Dr. V and MTMV a love lock for their 25th anniversary last night), and my awkward hand. Tyra Banks would be disappointed in me...

Amanda

Leave a Reply

