A Day of Wandering

Bonjour! Midnight here in the City of Lights

Today was truly a day of wandering.  I took it easy and lounged around my room this morning after getting breakfast (they were out of strawberry jam, grr!).  I skyped my dad, that was nice.  I was supposed to meet Hailey at St. Eustache, the church near our hotel.  However, I took a wrong turn and meandered around our neighborhood.  It was refreshing to see a change of scenery.  I saw a KFC! I have seen plenty of McDonalds and a few Subways, but this was the first Kentucky Fried Chicken.  It was a huge store.  It even had a patio so you could eat outside.  The line was out of the door.  Crazy! I found my destination (and Hailey) and we headed off to our favorite cafe for lunch, Cafe la Fusee.  I had a croque-monsieur and a salad.  I am not quite adventurous enough to try a croque-madame– a ham/grilled cheese with an egg on top.  It was delicious!

Then we found sites to do our exposes on.  For the class, everyone has to choose a topic, write a paper, and present it  on-site.  I have chosen to write my paper on Saint Genevieve, the patron saint of Paris.  I am not Catholic, but I find it interesting how one person can have such a great impact on those generations behind.  You should read up on this peasant girl who saved the Parisians from Attilla the Hun, negotiated to let prisoners go free, and inspired the Pantheon. Very neat; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Genevieve.  I found a bridge over the Seine that has a sculpture of  St. Genevieve, where I will do my presentation to the class. 

Hailey and I then wandered to a famous bookstore in Paris, Shakespeare and Company.  THIS IS THE COOLEST BOOKSTORE EVER. Believe me, I have been to many and this tops the list.  The original store, which was closed during the Occupation in WWII, was a center for famous expatriate writers, such as Hemingway and F. Scott Fitzgerald.  The current store is located right across the Seine from Notre Dame.  It is a mostly English-Language store with books from ceiling to floor.  There are beds on the top floor, in the reading room, where young writers and the workers can sleep.  If I lived there, I would never sleep, just read all night long! http://www.shakespeareandcompany.com/ Observation- I felt like all of the employees had a British accent.  Perhaps it is a job requirement…

Dinner was simple- bread and cheese.  And some cookies.  I am not getting homesick per say, but my heart and thoughts are with my family back in the states.  I wish I could be in two places at once. 

Love,

Amanda

One thought on “A Day of Wandering

  1. Dad June 1, 2011 / 5:38 PM

    You make it sound so blissfull in Paris. It was great to hear your voice and I would welcome the opportunity to choose books with you in Europe.

    Dad

Leave a Reply

