Ancient Ideas and Modern Inconveniences

 

Laura, Amrita, and Morgan during our lecture in the Arena. The kids in the red hats are students.

Bon soir!

11:15 Paris time, et tout va bien!

Today was truly full of Ancient Ideas.  We woke up and went to breakfast- CROISSANTS :).  I decided to have cafe au lait (1/2 coffee, 1/2 milk for those of you who aren’t caffine-savvy).  If you know me, you know that I am not a coffee fan, but when in Paris, you have to drink one of the staple boissions.  Coffee is a very old drink, so am I counting it as an

After this wonderful visit and lecture, our group walked through the streets of Paris and several op

http://www.musee-moyenage.fr/ang/index.html This was very neat, and definitely qualifies as an ancient idea.

Now onto the Modern inconveniences.  Let me just say that while these are inconveniences, they are slight, and I am still having THE TIME OF MY LIFE.  The first inconvenience about Paris I have discovered is the lack of shower curtains.  The second is the lack of public restrooms.  I shall never take a free, clean bathroom for granted again.  My friends and I spent thirty minutes searching for a bathroom on the Rue des Ecoles.  Most establishments do not even have a bathroom available to the public, no matter how much you beg.  After fifteen minutes, I was willing to pay 100 euros for the chance to use the bathroom. That desperate.  After twenty-five minutes, several desperate pleas, and two restrooms closed for cleaning, I was scouting the bushes in the park. Luckily, I found a toilet.  This may classify as TMI, but I just want everyone to appreciate the accessibility they have to a restroom. (Lesson Learned: the French do not urinate, at least not in public.) The third modern inconvenience is rush hour on the metro.  In case you haven’t heard, I love the metro.  However, today at 6:10, it was packed to the brim.  My group had to let at least three trains go by before we could squeeze in, and some gave up and walked.  We were like anchovies! (Lesson Learned: The french subway at rush hour smells like B.O., Cigarettes, and old fromage).  However, I have not let this lessen my intense love for the metro system.

Me devouring the wonderful crepe sucre!

There was one modern marvel today- the crepe.  For lunch, my friends Laura and Morgan and I ate at this cute little cafe on Saint Germain.  I had the student special: a panini, a drink, and a crepe.  This was my first experience with an authentic French crepe.  (While it was cooking, the chef asked if we were Americans and our opinion on Obama. At least, that’s what we think he said…)  I had one in its most basic form- the crepe sucre.  Basically, it is a pancake/waffle thing with plain sugar inside.  The sugar melts and carmelizes-SOOO GOOD. I love crepes.

Sorry this is so long, I just had so much to say about this magnificent day!

paix et amour,

Amanda

p.s. Also, today my friend Haley and I were mistaken for Parisians.  German tourists came up and asked us, in French, for directions to a street.  It was a great moment.  If you saw how beautiful everyone is here, you would understand!

p.p.s. This cat was walking in the gutter of the apartments across from my hotel room.  It was the 7th floor- quite a brave cat. It looked classically French 🙂

4 thoughts on “Ancient Ideas and Modern Inconveniences

  1. Dad May 19, 2011 / 5:20 PM

    Two of the paragraphs are missing dialouge.

    I am anxiuosly awaiting the whole story.

    Dad

  2. Grandma May 19, 2011 / 7:39 PM

    Hi, We really enjoy hearing about all your experiences in Paris. Hope all is still going OK and you are having a super good time..

  3. Genevieve May 20, 2011 / 12:28 AM

    Ahhhh! You’re having so much fun!! Also I love reading this blog it’s hilarious hahaha

  4. josiebungert May 25, 2011 / 5:24 PM

    that cat is absolutely adorable! and also, you are beautiful enough to be a parisian!
    Josie

Leave a Reply

