Day 1, Day 2…What day is it?

The view from our hotel window.
Just walking down the street…It is beautiful.

Bonjour tout le monde!

Today has been the longest day of my life.  It is currently 8 p.m. in Paris and 1 p.m. in Nebraska.  I got up at 6:30 Monday morning. If you do the math, I have been awake for over 36 hours. Hope this all makes sense!

Both of my flights went well.  I couldn’t really sleep- too excited!! We landed at CDG airport in Paris around 6:30 a.m. France time, and waited for all of the students to arrive.  We left the airport via metro around noon and headed to our hotel, the Hotel Bellevue et du Chariot d’Or in the 2nd arrondissement of Paris.  When I emerged from the metro, I felt like I was in an episode of Madeline.  The architecture is beautiful and classically French.  It can seem quaint and urban at the same time.  As I was walking to the hotel, I saw a man walking a French Poodle.  C’est magnifique, non? I also saw an advertisement for the upcoming movie “The Hangover 2“.  The French title- “Very Bad Night 2”.  Something seems to get lost in the translation….

 The hotel is very cute.  It is extremely old.  They recently put in a small elevator. It can only hold 3 or 4 people comfortably! There is a lovely spiral staircase and quaint lobby.  The only really strange thing about the hotel is that the bathrooms do not have shower curtains, just a tub and a hand-held shower head.  My roommates and I haven’t quite figured out how we are going to wash our hair…  By the time we checked in, everyone had been up for 24 hours.  After we got settled, our group walked to a cafe for dinner- Le Compass d’Or.  We then took a mini walking tour and saw the Seine, the famous landmarks, and most importantly, the Metro! I just returned from a store called Monoprix. It is like the Target of France.  Picked up some toiletries and such.  Now it is time to decompress and shower.  Perhaps we will all play a game or two of Bananagrams!

Yours truly,

Amanda

One thought on “Day 1, Day 2…What day is it?

  1. dad May 17, 2011 / 10:00 PM

    Would not that just be a poodle by default?
    Much like your mothers “french” onion soup on the Champs

Leave a Reply

