Everyone’s a critic…

In the world of facebook, blogging, and twitter, anybody can appear to be an expert.  The internet introduces a degree of anonymity to everything.  First, lets look at a trusted news source worldwide a newspaper (print or online). 

I don’t know about you, but I more or less trust what I read.  Examples of things that everybody can generally trust would be stories that report facts, such as the price of soybeans or the death toll of a hurricane.  Well-known newspapers and news outlets (ABC, NBC, Omaha World-Herald, Kearney Hub) have merit in my eyes, and I don’t usually doubt things such as these I find from their news sources.  Even opinion pieces, such as editorials, have a byline and usually include a sentence or two about the author’s credentials.  Basically, the New York Times wouldn’t let a random person type up their opinion. Yet that is what happens daily on the web, thanks to journalistic sites and tools. 

As I have mentioned in previous posts, there are numerous websites that allow users to upload their own stories and pictures.  However, these people have no credibility.  They could be (and probably are) anyone! Take this blog, for instance.  How well do you know me, the author? Some of you probably know me very well.  Others of you have never met me, and never will know more than my name and what I put on this blog.  Why should you listen to what I think? (I mean,besides the fact that I am pretty awesome.)

The entire point of this blog is to remind you, the gentle reader, to not believe everything you read.  Even movie reviews on http://www.imdb.com/ should be taken with a grain of salt.

Farethee well!

Leave a Reply

